the bag is always greener…

I love ‘research’. Not so much in the educational capacity, although find a topic worthy enough and you’ve got me doing searches until the early morning, but more of the ‘online window shopping’ variety. A topic pops into mind and poof, I search and search until I can find that perfect item. The problem is that once perfect item is found, it is difficult to not hold it. It looks perfect on screen! Wouldn’t it look even better in my hands?

Case in point: I have bag envy for the new PBK Classic Mom Diaper Bag.

With an upcoming family vacation planned, the demands on my current bag are much too large… literally. And in swoops the PBK Classic Mom: a very stylish and pregnant friend of mine (whom also shares my affinity for handbags) picked this gem out in grey. Peeking at it online, it looks to be the ultimate in bags: large, durable (as I can only anticipate canvas being), stylish yet timeless, and easy to access. My hope: it could suffice as both Baby Bunny’s luggage and my personal item. After the trip it could be our ‘Grandma Bag’ for when we visit the in-laws.

However, I felt like I was just looking at bags (Baby Bunny is fourteen months old), could I really utilize such a big bag as my only kiddo is getting close (I hope) to potty training, and how exactly does one justify the need to spend $150 on a diaper bag when there is one for Mommy and Daddy, each, hanging upstairs?

To give you a better idea of what I’m working with in the bag department, check it out (Babymel Slouchy Multidot)

Photo courtesy of www.diapers.com

Photo courtesy of http://www.diapers.com

Some other contenders are below: all with hopes to satisfy the need to store A LOT of things on this trip. While they don’t necessarily scream at my inner designer, they meet with the approving eye of my budget savvy husband.

Skip Hop Duo Double Deluxe: ($80)

Photo courtesy of  www.giggle.com

Photo courtesy of http://www.giggle.com

Vera Bradley Weekender: ($140- I already am a loyal Vera fan but am not sure if this is actually large enough.)

Photo courtesy of www.zappos.com

Photo courtesy of http://www.zappos.com

Kalencom Week-ender: ($90- and a STYLISH bag, but I haven’t been able to find anyone with experience using this brand. Especially since it needs to withstand the abuse of flying.)

Photo courtesy of www.kalencom.com

Photo courtesy of http://www.kalencom.com

So, fellow Diaper Bag wearing Mommies- share your wisdom! What kind of bag(s) have you used for family vacations? Anything that did or didn’t work on an airplane? And most importantly, what are your bag suggestions? I would love to hear them!

And yet again I am struck with the dilemma: do I need it or want it, and is it the best use of my resources at this moment? But isn’t it fun to ‘window shop’?

What say you???

