sew more.

What to do with nap time? Clean the house, make dinner, wash dishes, scrub the toilet, fold laundry… or use some of my favorite fabric to make something new (and test out more of the attachments on my BrotherSE400).

I chose the sewing option.

nap time, refurbished teacher, sewing, BrotherSE400, tutorial, easy

Custom pinafore dress size 6 months with monogram!

Thanks to Smashed Peas and Carrots very easy pinafore dress pattern, this little gem only took one nap to finish! With two pattern pieces to follow there is not much to mess up; main dress panel plus straps and the same for the liner (I used a plain white cotton but you could add a pop of color and have a reversible dress by changing the liner to something more fun). I made a few adjustments (mainly due to my own mistake reading the pattern the first go around) which involved changing the front panel, but I loved the contrast and personally wanted my straps hidden behind the bodice.  Want to stick to the pattern? No problem- Smashed Peas and Carrots had a very easy to follow tutorial complete with pictures.

Photo courtesy of Smashed Peas and Carrots http://smashedpeasandcarrots.com/

Photo courtesy of Smashed Peas and Carrots http://smashedpeasandcarrots.com/

The best part of this project was trying out more attachments for my new machine, specifically the button and button hole attachments. Lesson learned: follow the Brother guide and place a pin perpendicular to the button hole to prevent over ripping when opening the button hole with a seam ripper. Look for a tutorial this weekend on using the button hole and button attachment feet! It took me less than five minutes to complete both holes and buttons. It left my dress looking professional and saved me from digging out my hand needle.  Don’t have the attachments? Find them here.

Next up: coordinating diaper cover.  I’ll post pictures when it is finished (it will be the same green as the center panel).

Photo courtesy of Made http://www.danamadeit.com/

Photo courtesy of Made http://www.danamadeit.com/

Happy sewing!

Check out Smashed Peas and Carrots and Made for other great tutorials!

One thought on “sew more.

What say you???

