easy choco-loaded brownies.

Need a quick chocolate fix? (I often do.) Here is my newest recipe for easy brownies… give them a try (double the recipe) and relax tonight!

Baked brownies

Chocolate-ly smooth brownies! By Refurbished Teacher

Choco-loaded Brownies by RefurbishedTeacher

You’ll need: 

  • 9×9 inch greased baking pan
  • preheated 350 degree oven
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 1/3 cup cocoa-powder (I like DARK)
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/3 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup butter (room temperature) or 1/2 cup oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  1. (Make sure your oven is on and preheating to 350 degrees) Grease your 9×9 pan- I like to use my glass Pyrex pan since it has a lid and can be easily stored once out of the oven.
  2. Cream butter, vanilla and white sugar. (Using oil? Simply mix together. The difference between butter and oil here is that creaming the butter with vanilla and sugar will create small pockets of air- think whipped cream doubling in volume- resulting in a fluffy brownie that is more cake like. Oil will create more of a syrup that is heavier without the air pockets. I prefer to use butter, my Grandma always preferred butter and I tend to gravitate to her tastes, but oil works great too- just remember to use less oil than butter. Some experimentation might be needed).
  3. Slowly add your eggs.
  4. In a separate bowl combine dry ingredients then slowly add to creamed ingredients. Mix only for a short time (the trick is to not over mix your ingredients).
  5. Pour into greased pan and bake ~15- 20 minutes. I LOVE my brownies to be “goo-ey” in the center, almost on the brink of raw. Other people much prefer theirs cooked through. Check your own brownies about 15 minutes in and go from there- clean tooth pick means they are TOTALLY cooked and will not be “goo-ey” where as some crumbs sticking with some chocolate residue means perfection (in my opinion). 
  6. Let brownies briefly rest, then enjoy! (Little trick? Brownies, like beef roasts, continue to cook even when removed from the oven. Think your brownies are a tad too “goo-ey”? Check them after resting.. they’ll be delicious!)

*Remember, eggs always carry with them a risk of salmonella etc if not cooked properly. Fully cook your eggs to reduce the risk of getting sick. *

 

I was thinking about whom to share these yummy treats with and instantly thought of my friend that just had a baby; what else do new moms need other than a quick boost of chocolate and calories for nursing?? One of my friends had the GENIUS idea of sharing packaged cookie dough in small batches and freezing them- when guests would arrive on short notice/unannounced to visit with the baby (and us) I simply popped the small dough balls out of the freezer and heated the oven. It was such a thoughtful gift to me- it eased the ‘burden’ I felt to entertain others, while still allowing me to enjoy something homemade without any effort!

Anyways, I wanted to share this delicious brownie with my New Mommy friend but will not be able to see her until next week- solution jar it up! I have been saving glass jars (Natural peanut butter ones are great! Small garlic containers are not- oh well. Live and learn.) and decided that packaging the dry ingredients (doubled for an EXTRA treat) would be a great gift. I layered the dry ingredients (splitting the sugar to make more color variations) and then packed them down (compressing the flour affords you a few more inches of room). All that is left is to write out the recipe/directions, cover the jar in a cute fabric scrap I have,  and deliver! It might need a few more steps than the cookie dough, but it can last much longer in her pantry in case she wants to save it for further down the road.

Total cost? Roughly $1.97 (jar- free! fabric- free!)

Need a great ‘cheat sheet’ to roughly calculate the cost of ingredients for your recipes? Try out Carolina Clipper’s practical tools HERE.

Brownie jar

Jar your favorite desserts up- then share them for later!

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “easy choco-loaded brownies.

What say you???

